You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 1, 2010.

As part of the UPA All American competition Anna was required first to go into a private interview where they asked her about how she contributes to her dance team and about her 7 siblings. Apparently they asked if she was a good role model to her younger siblings. She replied very honestly, “Most of the time.” This competition also required a letter of academic achievement from her teacher and a short essay (100 work maximum) on “Why I Love Dance”.

Here is her essay:

I didn’t always love to dance. At three, I ran out of the practice room. I tried dance again in second grade, but I still didn’t like it. It wasn’t until fourth grade I tried again at a dance camp. At camp, I rediscovered dance, and I tried out for their dance team., “MVC AllStars”. When I got the letter saying I had made the team I screamed and jumped on my bed. I progressed in my dance ability, built good friendships, and competed at the Americup. When the year was over, for the first time, I knew I loved dance.

The main part of this competition (held on February 19, 2010) was to perform a one-minute routine in front of the judges. This was done in a private ballroom. Anna could have up to four guests in the corner so her Dad, her coach Katie and myself were in the room. I choreographed her routine. She did very well and I was proud.

She also competed in the Kick All Star competition. This was also a solo event but public. She performed her kick routine on a stage in from a a row of about 12 judges and an audience of about 300 people. Her kicks were awesome.

I made this layout to capture the special moments of her first day of solo competitions.

I was so impressed how Anna handled these intense pressure-filled competitions. She was confident, poised and encourging of the other contestants. Words can’t express how proud I was of her. She’s already planning for next year’s competition.