Every now and then I undertake a new challenge. Right now it is a photo-a-day challenge for the month of July. I’ve never been up to the project 365 challenge, where photographs are taken each and every single day of the year. But at least once a year for the past few years, I’ll document a month or at least a week of my life. This type of challenge forces me to take the camera out more (I know my friends are laughing at this point, as if I don’t take my camera out enough as it is), it makes me photograph the everyday, it helps me to “see” things from a different perspective, I learn to use more features on my camera, and I slow down and appreciate all the blessing around me that I often take for granted.

July 1:

Storm clouds on the way to the cabin.

Jeff and I had planned to get away to the cabin just the two of us for the weekend. When Jeff arrived at home, I was ready to go, but the skies were threatening. We held off for about 1/2 an hour while debating if we should wait until morning to go before deciding to head out. Since it was a holiday weekend, we took the back roads to avoid traffic. We skirted the northerly edge of this wall cloud for the first hour. It did rain like crazy for about 10 minutes, enough to where we thought we should pull over. Once it past, the sky was sunny and clear, but we could still see darkness behind us to the east. The next town we arrived at had obviously gotten much worse, with damaged roofs, 30-foot tall trees downed and a rolled-over semi. Our half-hour delay at home probably saved us from being in the worst of this storm. It was late when we finally arrived at the cabin, but at that hour, the starry sky overhead was breathtaking. I wish there was a way to capture that in a photograph!

