The Funky Minds group got together a few days before the 4th of July holiday to make a few fun red, white and blue things and to play with water balloons.

Eliza helps Ellie made a “fireworks” pen.

Decorating can coolers. Anna  visits with Grandpa Bill. This was his last time at Funky Minds. As usual, he was helping the kids, passing out dum-dum suckers and sharing advice. He died later that night. I’m grateful I got to know this kind-hearted , Godly man and that we were able to spend part of his last day on this earth with him. He was everyone’s Grandpa Bill. Ellie use to call him her, ‘nother Grandpa.

Jacob getting into the spirit of the 4th. Love the heart face-painting on his cheek. Jacob is one of the teens that helps out at Funky Minds. He’s been a part of the Funky Minds family since he was a little kid.

I let Ellie paint my face. Later she wanted to make her own layout (that’s my girl!) about it. Using a template, Ellie picked out her own papers and elements and knows how to use a clipping mask to clip the papers into the template. She wasn’t afraid to try different elements in different position and discard the ones she didn’t like. I did the typing for her but the words are hers. I think she did a fantastic job.

Jacob was such a good sport, letting all the kids line up with their water balloons to take a shot at him.

