It has become an annual event for my Dad, brother and I to do the Headwaters 45-mile bicycle ride. I think I’ve done it 7 or 8 times now, only missing in 2004 having just given birth to my youngest only 3 weeks earlier. Dad always likes to start out early so we were checking in just as daylight was breaking. The morning was perfect for a ride–overcast, no rain and temperatures in the mid to upper 50’s. I did well only getting a sore butt the last 5 or 6 miles. It always feels good to get off the bike, enter the school and claim your “hero” t-shirt for your accomplishment. After a shower and some shopping (and I’ll report that the sun did come out) Dad treats the heros and all their supporters to dinner at La Pasta before they close down for the season. It was the only time all season that I made it to that restaurant. My photo for the week is at the end of the ride (note: we are still smiling!):

week-39-headwaters-web

Some more pics of the riders at the last pit stop, the group out to dinner and a pooped out pup:

Headwaters-photos-web

Next year Anna and Justin want to join us for the last part of the ride (doing the last 5-11 miles together). Imagine three generations crossing the finish line together–now that will be awesome!

