This highlight of the week was getting Anna’s ears pierced at the mall.

Week-33ears-web

I treated her to ice cream to celebrate. It was tradition after all since that is exactly what I did with my Mom and Dad on the day I got my ears pierced. I was 14 years old and my family was vacationing in Seattle visiting  my grandma and my uncle and aunt. I had gone to a mall with my parents and Dad left us girls to do some shopping. Mom and I noticed a sign in one of the stores that advertised ear piercing. We looked at each other and said, “are you thinking what I’m thinking?” and we were. So after we met up with Dad he thought it was a great idea. I made Mom go first. Dad treated us to ice cream to celebrate our new earrings. Grandma noticed within minutes after getting back to her house.

Anna took about half an hour in the store before she decided that “YES” she wanted to get her ears pierced. Just before the first one was done, she was squeezing the teddy bear with one hand while the other hand was squeezing my hand. She got nervous when the actual earring gun was placed next to her ear. But her worried, “I don’t know if I’m ready, I’m not sure..” quickly changed to “Hey, that didn’t hurt!” within 2 seconds of the earring being placed. The other ear was a breeze. And the photo shows her big smile after it was all over. She was happy to have her ears pierced. Now she only has to clean her earring three times a day for the next 6 weeks.

pierced-web

