It was a wonderful day–full of family, fun, love and feeling special. I was first greeted to these beautiful flowers from Jeff in the morning (I plan to keep them on my deck where I can enjoy them this summer):

 Mothersflowers-web

Then the girls joined in by presenting me with cards they had made:

MomdaycardEllie-web

Ellie used wildflowers she had picked in our woods. She also loves writing her name.

This one from Anna almost made me cry:

MomdaycardAnna-web

Jeff cooked the family waffles and bacon. I can’t remember the last time all of us sat down for breakfast together.

jeff051009

After church we headed over to grandma and grandpa’s house to celebrate both Mother’s Day and Grandma’s birthday (which was the day before). Grandma loves having her birthday picture surrounded by all her grandkids. It’s a great tradition.

grandmakids0510

Grandma requested that Ellie (our 4.5 year old) make her birthday cake.Of course Ellie picked out her favorite pink cake mix and frosting. Ellie broke the eggs, poured in all the ingredients and even got to use the electric mixer (under supervision) for the first time. She and Anna did the decorating. After a horribly off-key singing of the “Happy Birthday” song, grandma blew out the candles.

grandmacake0510

Ellie made a special present for her grandma. She painted and decorated a frame with hearts (which Grandma loved).

elliepresent0510

Of course some of the kids (Matt, Anna and Ellie) just had to act a bit goofy during this photo op:

goofykids0510

Before we left there was another photo op, this time with the families outside under the flowering tree.

More being goofy before we started (this time Jeff and Anna):

jeffanna0510

Here is my family (wow–do you believe this is the second time this year we have a picture of us all together):

family051009web

Here is my family with Grandma and Grandpa:

famgg051009web

And finally here is one of everyone:

famclan051009web

But my day didn’t end there. Jeff decided that I needed a special “mom’s night out” so he arranged for Austin and Anna to babysit Ellie while we went to the new “Star Trek” movie. Yep, that’s the one I wanted to see. I have fond memories of my dad and I watching the original series together and have loved the reruns every since.

Hard for me to believe that this is my 11th year celebrating being a Mom. I had to look back through my scrapbooks to find out what I did for my first Mother’s Day 11 years ago. Anna would have been only 5 months old. She and I celebrated by having breakfast together at her daycare center and then going to the zoo.

My first Mother’s Day–celebrating the best job in the world:

 first Momsday 98

