Anna helped make dinner the other night. Not only did she help prepare the meal and set the table, she created the menu for the evening:

menu-anna-webIt was good.

Anna attends a Montessori school and part of their work always involves a “follow on” after having a lesson on a particular subject. The “follow on” is a learning activity of their choosing that shows a demonstration of the material taught. It can be a report, a power point, sometimes artwork, a diagram, or just about whatever they can think of. A recent lesson on the historical importance of salt resulted in this play:

Salt

(Setting: kitchen counter)

Pepper:  And that is how I became the greatest cooking ingredient ever. I bet you wish something that exciting happened to you Salt.

Salt: Well actually, I have a pretty interesting story too, Pepper.

Pepper: Oh yeah? Let’s hear it.

Salt: OK.

Pepper: (quietly to himself) This had better be good.

Salt: I know you are thinking, “How could salt be interesting. You go to the grocery store and buy it for less than $2.00.” But there is way more about me that I bet you didn’t know.

Pepper: Just get to the story!

Salt: (looks over at Pepper) I’m getting there.

(Pepper rolls his eyes)

Salt: As I was saying, In 2200 B.C., the Chinese emperor Hsia Yu, made one of the first taxes. He taxed me, Salt!

Salt: And did you know that I was used as money in some parts of the world. Roman soldiers were paid for their services with salt.

Pepper: Okay, so you were used as money, big deal.

Salt: In 1785, the Earl of Dundonald said that every year in England, 10,000 people were arrested for salt smuggling.

Pepper: 10,000 people! Wow!

Salt: To protest a British rule in 1930, Gandhi lead a 200-mile march to the Arabian Ocean to collect salt. There is much more about salt, but that’s all I have time to tell you about today.

Pepper: Wow! Is all that true?

Salt: Of course! How could I make all that up?!

Pepper: That’s amazing, all that happened because of salt.

Salt: I told you I had a pretty interesting story.

Pepper: You got that right!

THE END   by Anna

 

 

A lesson the previous week was on punctuation. They were to illustrate the different meanings of the same words that had different puncutation. This example had me laughing:

gas-web

